Some whine coming up

Just want to grouse a little.

It's the end of the year, and we're rounding things up. All of a sudden, the head wants us to revamp all the worksheets for the level, and wants it done before the end of term. i.e. in one week. We'll find out exactly what we have to do tomorrow morning at 7.30am. That's the time we have to report tomorrow. Argh! That's too early. I'm lucky if I wake up at 7:30am on a normal day, now I have to bloody be at work by then. It's going to take a miracle. And no, that's not my name for the alarm clock. Alarm clocks do not work on me. Not even those with the snooze button. I just switch it off and go back to sleep. Sigh. My prayer: that I wake up in time to get to work by 7:30 tomorrow morning. And not forget anything I have to bring along.

And #1 wants to meet the level teachers on Monday morning, to 'discuss' the results. My level head likens it to a witch hunt. She is going to hold each and everyone of us responsible for each and every failure in each and every subject. Nevermind that the child is weak. Nevermind if the child had a history of bad grades - if the child had poor results in the previous years (not just this year), we are to let her (#1, not the level head) know what classes they were in previously and who taught them, as she wishes to 'trace the source'.

2 days ago, I was pretty depressed because my class did not perform up to my expectations. As compared to the other classes, they were ok. Slightly better than some, and on par with the rest, but I was disappointed anyway. I took it to be a reflection of me and my teaching - that I was not good enough, that I was personally responsible for those who did not do well. The colleagues I voiced this out to (including my level head) told me not to be silly, and that I had already done my best, that the paper itself contributed to the performance of the pupils, and not to be so hard on myself. Just as I was starting to feel better about it, #1 seems to want to hold us responsible. Look, it's not like I'm programming computers, where all the codes are typed in by me, and there are no other factors involved. These are human beings. Almost 40 of them in a class. Sigh. I give up. I don't wanna talk about it anymore.

My level head is stressed. I do not envy her. As level head, she will have to account for the results. Apparently, she is also asked to account for the poor results of the next level, just because they were in her level last year, and did relatively well in that level, but did not do so this year. Boy am I glad I'm not her.

Comments