Responsibility as a pet owner

I'm currently giving tuition to this kid. His guardian has two jack russels which just had puppies. The mum is kinda protective, and has nipped me twice, eventhough I was nowhere near the pups, so I now just try to stay as far away from it as possible.

Anyway, I just found out from the kid that there used to be another dog. From the sounds of it, it was a medium-sized dog. However, it had been barking a lot in recent times, (but before I started tutoring him) because of the construction workers working on a property nearby. apparently, the construction workers are lodging in the property as well, so there are lots of goings-on, even at night. So this dog keeps on barking.

Their solution to the problem was to abandon the dog. They brought it to a park not too nearby, but rather far away, but the dog found its way back. So they brought it to a place even further the second time, and it hasn't been seen since.

I asked the kid if he knew why they abandoned the dog, and his response was that they did not want to take it to the local shelter as it would probably have been put to sleep (it's not a no-kill shelter) But surely theirs was not the best solution either? If the dog gets picked up, guess where it'll go - to the local shelter, where the fate they wanted it to avoid would await it anyway.

I can understand the constraints they faced, and know it was probably not an easy decision to make, but abandonment is the easy way out. Abandon the dog, reassure yourself that "at least it won't be put to sleep", but you are only saying to yourself that you are not "DIRECTLY responsible" for putting it to sleep. You may still be indirectly responsible for that fate, and if not, then surely you are directly responsible for its loss in quality of life from that moment on.

I don't know. I'm all 'keep the dog till you can find alternative arrangements. Till then, suck it up.'

Comments