Blackout

There was a massive blackout last night. Started about 10 and ended at 12.15pm. I first thought it was our ELCB that tripped, but then realised that it was *really* dark - the common lights were out too. We looked out the window and realised the the neighbouring blocks and the condos across the streets were out too. As were the streetlights.


After we were done lighting with our emergency lighting, Mr Milo went to check on the neighbours and we found out from them that many other areas were out too. (Teenagers smsing one another :P)

Tried calling my mum on the handphone, but could not get through. So I used my land line - I made sure when we moved in that we had one non-cordless phone, just for blackout purposes (can you tell I've been through quite a few blackouts? :D

Anyway, mum had a blackout too. But the row of houses behind hers was fine. A condo down my street (a block or two away) was fine too, all lit up like a christmas tree.

Everything else was dark. Quite a few folks got into their cars and drove off.

Other than the cars on the street, it was very quiet - no tvs, radios, or hums of any machines (fridges, fans, aircons, etc)

Called mum back a short while later as she had an incoming call, and she was telling me about which areas were affected and what had happened (gas supply interuption from Indonesia). When I asked her how she knew, she said that its on the news - I thought she was listening to the radio, but it was on tv. Her power was back on! It came back even before she could put the batteries into her torch. Lucky her.

Bro was watching Spiderman 2, and did not was all "What blackout?" when he returned mum's call.

Anyway, we had a romantic evening, and I was taking photos of our romantically lit place when the power came back on shortly past 12. Ours was one of the last places to be restored. When JH called friends nearby (but in different estates), they all had their power back quite early on. JH thinks it's because we're not in the 'favoured' wards. :P If so, we pay taxes too! and power bills! hee

Anyway, Mr Milo and I noticed as we were looking around last night, there were very few apartments that had light in them during thE blackout. I know, sounds 'duh!', but I mean candle and torch lights. Of the three blocks that I can see from my front door, only 5 had some sort of light in them. It can't be that they all left to go somewhere else, as the carpark was still kinda full. I guess most people really are not prepared for situations such as this.

Anyway, a pic from the papers:


I only thought of taking pictures after my bath, and only managed to get a few pictures when the lights came back on.

my balcony, with citronella oil lamps:


stairs lit with candles, with our kick-*** torch in the background


end table: (sofa arm lit by above-mentioned torch)


console table:

Comments