RP PBL Training

Day 3 (yesterday)
Learnt about what happens during meeting 2, breakout 2 and meeting 3.
met an irritating woman at pm break. She was from Group B, but was helping herself to Gp A's food, (they had tried a new arrangement), so i pointed it out to her. She responded that she did not realise it, and then proceeded to help herself anyway. I pointed out that now that she knows, she can go over and take the food there. Her response? It's ok.

i had 2 responses
1) Bitch
2) Sigh

Anyway, felt a little under the weather. Started with a sore throat in the morning.
Anyway, went to get some medicine and groceries from Compass Point on my way back.


Day 4

Today we experienced what the kids experience in One Day One Problem.
Our problem was basically assessment in the RP system.
It was interesting, and I think that it's great that the students are given the opportunity to / forced to construct their own knowledge.

It can be a scary process for the facilitators, and it obviously is, given the questions and queries asked.

Basically, in RP, students are given a Daily Grade, which is supposed to be based on the learning process, not the content knowledge acquired, which many facilitators are very insecure about. Some still have not seemed to grasp the concept that understanding a concept will lead to the acquisition of content. Besides, content can become obsolete by the time the kids graduate, but the skills and learning processes gained can be applied to anything they do.

Also, some seemed fixated on punctuality, asking question after question on penalising students who turn up late. Err... since assessment is holistic (encompassing class participation, team presentation, and awareness of what they have learnt and so on), if they miss part of the lesson, they are penalising themselves because they are not giving the facilitators a chance to observe said behaviours)

Anyway, we were given a long lunch (2hrs - we were supposed to prepare our presentation, but had finished earlier), so I decided to go to ICA to collect my passport. The electronic board indicated that the waiting time was 31 mins, so I decided to wait. But 50 mins in, my number wasn't even close to being called, so I hoofed it. I'll try again tomorrow morning, before going for class.

Am feeling worse today. Not going to cook. Getting Mr Milo to buy porridge back instead.

Ok, going to crash now.

Comments