Behaviour Modification for Dogs

I am trying to find out how to modify an aggressive dog's behaviour. For my Mum's dog.

Mum and SO are not in town at the moment. Normally, I get the job of feeding the dog and clearing after it. However, this time, they're away for a longer period of time, and looking to make it semi-permanent. Therefore, they had to do something with the dog. No one was willing to dog-sit him for a couple of months, and the SO was contemplating putting him down. I objected of course (although its not my dog, and was in no position to say anything, but that has never really stopped me before, so why start now?) But putting a dog down just because he's no longer convenient is just wrong, you know? I mean, if it meant that I would have to go down everyday long term, so be it. Luckily, mum felt the same way, and managed to find someone willing to take him in for the initial two months.

Unfortunately, when they brought the dog over, it was so jumpy that it bit the dog sitter (DS). (Not too auspicious a start. Sigh)

Two nights ago, as I was waiting for DH to come home for dinner, DS called me and asked to to go over because the dog had gotten loose and that neither he nor his maid (who's the main person interacting with the dog) dared to go near him. I could understand as the dog is very boisterous, and has a thing about men - he's aggressive to all of them.

When I arrived, DS said that he dared not leash the dog as the dog was 'angry' with him.

Basically, the dog had managed to somehow unleash himself and nobody dared approach it. So I spent time with it (bribed it, patted it, played with it, talk with it and all) and eventually leashed him again.

What makes me sad is that that means that the dog spends 24h a day on the leash. Mum was hoping that DS would grow to like the dog so much that he would offer to take him in. I doubt that will happen as he's afraid of the dog. Not sure if I want the dog subjected to a lifetime on the leash either. Thing is, what'll happen to him then? A right conudrum, this. Which is why I'm thinking of behavour modification. To train the dog to be less agressive towards men (which he was trained to do 'cos Mum's SO wanted a guard dog. *disapproval* Sigh.

Comments